“The wind rises”

Last Sunday, I watched “The wind rises” ,which I Japanese animated historical fantasy film written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki. This film is a fictionalized biography of Jiro Horikoshi, designer of fighter aircraft that the empire of Japan used in World War II .
This is final film by Hayao Miyazaki.

Jiro succeeded to make aircraft and dream came true. He met a girl, Natsuko and eventually they got married. But when Jiro and Natsuko fall in love,she was battling against tuberculosis .
She stayed at isolated hospital for a while but she couldn’t bear being apart from Jiro.
She left for his place and they decided to live together despite they knew her disease got worse.
When Natsuko realized her death, she decided to come back to isolated hospital without notice.
Until then, she made up everyday and looked beautiful for Jiro. She did her best for him and left him.

At the scene, I remembered my mother who died this April. She also tried to look beautiful even she was affected with her disease. When she died, she was beautiful with a relieved face.
Also,thought of my father. He did everything for my mother and he was filled with grief when my mother died. Such a beautiful couple.
My mother must happy to stay with my father like Natsuko.
I decided that whatever happens to my husband ,I will support my husband till die.
There is a memorable line by Jiro ” None of aircraft I made returned.” He didn’t want to make aircraft to fight but it was used at war. He must be very complicated that people went to die by his aircraft.

This is first time to watch a film by Hayao Miyazaki at the theatre.
I watched many of his films at home. This is also thought-provoking film.
It’s a shame that he will retire soon.

20130916-231517.jpg

2 thoughts on ““The wind rises”

    • Hi azzuri!! It was a great film but in the middle of the film, I felt boring and slept for a while.
      I heard mixed reception for this film. I believe that you definitely fall in love with Jiro Horikoshi !! Please watch it and let me knew your opinion!

      Like

Leave a Reply

